Wednesday, February 21, 2024


The Michigan Assessors Association's Awards Program recognizes individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the Association and the Property Tax Administration Profession

Awards/Scholarships Committee

Amanda Lacelle , Chair
Phone: 517-424-6543
Email the Committee Chair


Do you know someone that stands out in the field of assessment administration? Now is your opportunity to nominate your colleagues in recognition of their contributions and accomplishments.

The Michigan Assessors Association recognizes persons, groups or agencies each year for outstanding contributions they have made to the assessment profession.

Submit a Nomination On-Line Print Nomination Form


Award Categories
Most Valuable Member (Ernest "Ernie' Beren Award)
MOST VALUABLE MEMBER AWARD (Ernest "Ernie" Beren Award)

This award to be presented to the MAA member who has, over a period of years made a significant contribution to the association through participation, activities, and has made an outstanding contribution to the realization of the goals of MAA.

Eligibility and Criteria:
  • Candidates must be a regular member of MAA.
  • Current officers and Executive Board NOT eligible.
  • Candidate criteria may include, but not be limited to: The candidate has served in an elected position of MAA, as a committee chair, as a contributor in MAA education, or as a speaker at MAA conferences, seminars etc.
  • The candidate has a record of distinguished publications in professional literature.
  • The candidate has been active in other assessor/appraiser organizations.
  • The candidate has served on other public related service related organizations; on national, regional, state or local government study commissions, committees etc.
Literary (Frank Moss Award)
LITERARY AWARD (Frank Moss Award)

This is to be presented to the author of articles adjudged to contribute the most toward the improvement of assessment administration.

Education (David Bone Award)
EDUCATION AWARD (David Bone Award)

This award is presented to the person who has contributed the most in the field of education as related to assessment administration.

Subscribing Member (David M. Heinowski Award)

This award is presented to the MAA subscribing member whose contribution during the past year(s) has been so worthwhile as to demand recognition. This individual's contributions may have been in the area of writing or speaking on equalization, assessment administration or general taxation. The individuals may have also distinguished themselves by contributing to the goals of the organization through the contribution of time, effort, talent, and resources to furthering the goals and objectives of MAA. The recipient shall be the outstanding MAA subscribing member who exemplifies selfless service to the field of assessment administration.

Michigan Property Tax Achievement Award

This award is given to a person or group (who is not an assessment administrator) or a public agency(which is not an assessment or revenue organization),that has made an outstanding contribution to the improvement of property tax administration and the realization of the goals of the MAA.

Distinguished Assessment Jurisdiction Award

This award is conferred on a state, county, or local assessment agency that has instituted a technical, procedural, or administrative program which is, for the affected jurisdiction, an improvement over prior programs, and which is generally recognized as a component of model assessment system and a contributing factor to equity in property taxation.

Eligibility Criteria:
Open only to government assessment/revenue agencies, which have instituted a program as described in the two years prior to nomination, the results of which have proved to be successful.

  • Public information programs are eligible for this award.
  • Programs that are eligible include, but are not limited to:
  • The agency has implemented a program of measuring/evaluating assessment performance by conducting assessment=sales-ratio studies, performance audits, etc.
  • The agency has implemented computerized/cost effective assessment procedures.
  • The agency has began a tax mapping program.
  • The agency has required tax assessor certification, continuing education, etc. and
  • The agency has created an assessment standards division to conduct performance audits, issued guidelines/manuals, provides current awareness services to professional staff, etc.
Distinguished Service Award (President's Award)

This award is presented by the MAA President to an individual or individuals that have made outstanding contributions to the association in the past year.

Follow Us On:

2023 Award Recipients

2023 Ernest (Ernie) Beren Most Valuable Member Award

Beth Botke

Author: MAA Webmaster/Monday, August 15, 2022/Categories: Awards

Rate this article:
No rating

Beth Botke’s substantial and invaluable contributions to both the Michigan Assessors Association (MAA) and the broader assessing community are beyond dispute.

Throughout the past 15-plus years, Ms. Botke has been an active presence within the MAA. Her service extends to various roles, including her dedicated tenure on the MAA Board of Directors, participation on the MAA Education Committee, and her involvement with numerous other MAA Committees.

Beth has been instrumental in elevating our educational offerings. She has played a pivotal role in MAA’s transition from traditional certification classes to the more dynamic realm of continuing education, which now spans the entire state. Over the past two years, her vision has propelled us even further by introducing virtual and hybrid classes, ensuring that knowledge is accessible to a broader audience. Remarkably, all of this has been accomplished while she diligently fulfills her duties as a local assessor.

Beth’s unwavering commitment, tireless work ethic, and passion for education have left an indelible mark on our annual conferences and the MAA as a whole. Her dedication has
undoubtedly enriched the lives of every member of our Association.

In recognition of her exceptional organizational skills, unwavering commitment, loyalty, and exemplary service to assessors across the State of Michigan, we proudly acknowledge Beth
Botke as the 2023 MAA Most Valuable Member.


Number of views (253)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.
webmaster Terms Of Use Privacy Statement
Back To Top