Thursday, May 23, 2019


The Michigan Assessors Association's Awards Program recognizes individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the Association and the Property Tax Administration Profession

Awards/Scholarships Committee

Michael Racklyeft , Chair
Phone: 248-796-5240
Email the Committee Chair


Do you know someone that stands out in the field of assessment administration? Now is your opportunity to nominate your colleagues in recognition of their contributions and accomplishments.

The Michigan Assessors Association recognizes persons, groups or agencies each year for outstanding contributions they have made to the assessment profession.

Submit a Nomination On-Line Print Nomination Form


Award Categories
Most Valuable Member (Ernest "Ernie' Beren Award)
MOST VALUABLE MEMBER AWARD (Ernest "Ernie" Beren Award)

This award to be presented to the MAA member who has, over a period of years made a significant contribution to the association through participation, activities, and has made an outstanding contribution to the realization of the goals of MAA.

Eligibility and Criteria:
  • Candidates must be a regular member of MAA.
  • Current officers and Executive Board NOT eligible.
  • Candidate criteria may include, but not be limited to: The candidate has served in an elected position of MAA, as a committee chair, as a contributor in MAA education, or as a speaker at MAA conferences, seminars etc.
  • The candidate has a record of distinguished publications in professional literature.
  • The candidate has been active in other assessor/appraiser organizations.
  • The candidate has served on other public related service related organizations; on national, regional, state or local government study commissions, committees etc.
Literary (Frank Moss Award)
LITERARY AWARD (Frank Moss Award)

This is to be presented to the author of articles adjudged to contribute the most toward the improvement of assessment administration.

Education (David Bone Award)
EDUCATION AWARD (David Bone Award)

This award is presented to the person who has contributed the most in the field of education as related to assessment administration.

Subscribing Member (Robert Eckhart Award)

This award is presented to the MAA subscribing member whose contribution during the past year(s) has been so worthwhile as to demand recognition. This individual's contributions may have been in the area of writing or speaking on equalization, assessment administration or general taxation. The individuals may have also distinguished themselves by contributing to the goals of the organization through the contribution of time, effort, talent, and resources to furthering the goals and objectives of MAA. The recipient shall be the outstanding MAA subscribing member who exemplifies selfless service to the field of assessment administration.

Michigan Property Tax Achievement Award

This award is given to a person or group (who is not an assessment administrator) or a public agency(which is not an assessment or revenue organization),that has made an outstanding contribution to the improvement of property tax administration and the realization of the goals of the MAA.

Distinguished Assessment Jurisdiction Award

This award is conferred on a state, county, or local assessment agency that has instituted a technical, procedural, or administrative program which is, for the affected jurisdiction, an improvement over prior programs, and which is generally recognized as a component of model assessment system and a contributing factor to equity in property taxation.

Eligibility Criteria:
Open only to government assessment/revenue agencies, which have instituted a program as described in the two years prior to nomination, the results of which have proved to be successful.

  • Public information programs are eligible for this award.
  • Programs that are eligible include, but are not limited to:
  • The agency has implemented a program of measuring/evaluating assessment performance by conducting assessment=sales-ratio studies, performance audits, etc.
  • The agency has implemented computerized/cost effective assessment procedures.
  • The agency has began a tax mapping program.
  • The agency has required tax assessor certification, continuing education, etc. and
  • The agency has created an assessment standards division to conduct performance audits, issued guidelines/manuals, provides current awareness services to professional staff, etc.
Distinguished Service Award (President's Award)

This award is presented by the MAA President to an individual or individuals that have made outstanding contributions to the association in the past year.

Follow Us On:

2018 Award Recipients

There's only one thing more exciting than receiving an award and that's the pleasure of watching someone you nominated receive recognition!

Who do you know that deserves recognition?

2018 David Bone Education Award

Terry Bykerk & Michael Wierenga

Author: MAA Webmaster/Sunday, August 19, 2018/Categories: Awards

Rate this article:
No rating
Terry Bykerk has over 25 years of law enforcement experience in patrol, vice, S.W.A.T., field training, investigations and street undercover operations. He has extensive experience in standard operating guideline liability and implementation, training program development and adult learner advancement.  Mike Wierenga has over 20 years of firefighting and law enforcement experience with over 4,000 hours of classroom and practical skill instruction in area colleges, universities, hospitals and security agencies as well as fire and police departments. His training includes over 300 hours of critical-incident and stress management. 

These two public safety professionals combine more than 50 years of experience and have witnessed many preventable deaths of co-workers as well as citizens. Their mission is to reduce these tragedies by presenting affordable, convenient and passionate educational programs that increase awareness, modify behavior and change the attitudes of the civilian and public safety community. who saw a need to educate individuals and organizations who routinely put themselves in harm's way. 

To that end, they developed an educational program called “2 the Rescue”. The program provides a hands on training, making individuals aware of their surroundings and how to, as a last resort, use self-defense techniques. 

Over the past four years, 2 the Rescue has provided 24 training classes around the State of Michigan presenting to many assessing organizations.

Cathy Cousineaw, Assessor in Monroe Charter Township stated, “They helped when an employee and I encountered a resident with a gun pointed initially at my assistant. I was able to defuse the situation based on what I learned from their class.”
2 the Rescue provides relevant information to those of us who are out in the field and come in contact with the public every day. Their classes have become requirements for many governmental offices throughout Michigan.

Because of the invaluable training these two individuals have provided to the members of the Michigan Assessors Association, we recognize Terry Bykerk and Mike Wierenga with the 2018 David Bone Education Award.

Return to Awards page...


Number of views (307)/Comments (0)

Copyright (c) 2019 MAA Terms Of Use Privacy Statement