Thursday, December 13, 2018

Committees & Chairs


The Michigan Assessors Association's Awards Program recognizes individuals and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the Association and the Property Tax Administration Profession.
Awards Committee Chair
Michael Racklyeft, Chair
26000 Evergreen Rd.
PO Box 2055
Southfield, MI 48037
Committee Members:
Kim Miller
Rob Scripture
Sharon Frischman
Visit Awards Page


The Bylaws Committee meets throughout the year to review and recommend changes to the Association's Bylaws.  The Association's Constitution and Bylaws may be amended at the Annual Meeting of this Association by a two-thirds vote of the regular members present.  Notice of proposed bylaw changes are published in this Association's official publication not less than thirty (30) days prior to the Annual Meeting.
Bylaws Committee Chair
Patricia DePriest, Chair
2010 S Lincoln Rd
Mt Pleasant, MI 48858
Committee Members:
Scott Engerson
Jim Bush
David Petrak
Joe Porterfield
Dulcee Ranta
Visit Bylaws Page


The Standards Committee addresses issues related to equity and uniformity of taxation, ethics and standards of conduct for professional assessment administration. The specific purposes and goals of the committee are dictated by the climate of assessment administration in the State of Michigan and are flexible and ongoing.
Standards Committee Chair
Tony Meyaard, Chair
701 Main Street
St Joseph, MI 49085-1316
(269) 983-711
Committee Members:
Dan Bengel, Vice Chair
Jim Bush
Matt Woolford
Jason Yoakam
Dan Bengel
Jeannie Diaz
Eric Harger


The Education Committee is responsible for identifying and developing educational programs, staffing educational venues. The committee also works closely with the State Tax Commission and other professional organizations to secure continuing education and certification credit of its educational offerings.
Education Committee Chair
Sandy Birkenshaw, Chair
1 South Main
Mount Clemens, MI 48043-1522
Committee Members:
Debby Ring (Education Services Coordinator)
State Tax Commission
Dulcee Ranta; Pat Depriest; Beth Botke
Robert Brandmier; Jim Bush; Cathy Cousineau
Jim Licari; Linda Stevenson; Tony Meyaard
Ashley Larrison; Kristen Sieloff; Dan Kirwin
Kim Miller; Pete Arbour
Visit Education Page


The Finance Committee serves to advise and/or make recommendations to the Board of Directors of this Association on all financial matters concerning the Association.
Finance Committee Chair
Paula Jastifer, Chair
300 Monroe Ave, NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Committee Members:
Amy Dehaan, President
John Dahlquist, Treasurer
Stacey Bassi, Secretary
Ruth Scott, Past President

Long Range Planning

The Long Range Planning Committee is responsible for providing insight and guidance to assist the Board of Directors in making decisions affecting the future of the Association.
Long Range Planning Committee Chair
James Elrod, Chair
40700 Romeo Plank Rd.
Clinton Township, MI 48038
Committee Members:
Paula Jastifer
Matthew Raftary
Debby Ring
Robert Scripture
Dan Bengel


The Membership Committee is charged with maintaining, servicing, and increasing membership for the Association. review and recommend resolutions on member issues and make recommendations on programs to strengthen membership of the Association.
Membership Committee Chair
Stacey Bassi, Chair
1101 S. Saginaw St.
Flint, MI 48502
(810) 237-2401
Committee Members:
Sandy Birkenshaw
Peggy Nolded
Karolyn Pargo
Matthew Raftary
Warren Parrish
Join MAA


The Nominating committee is responsible for obtaining nominations for Association Officers, reviewing qualifications of potential candidates and recommending a slate of officers to be elected at the Annual Meeting of the Association.
Nominating Committee Chair
Amy L DeHaan, Chair
3848 Veterans Dr
Traverse City, MI 49684
(231) 941-1620
Committee Members:
Ruth Scott, Past President
John Dahlquist, Assessor
Cindy Dodge,MTA
Donna Vandervries, MAED
Visit Nomination Page


The Conference Committee is responsible for all aspects of the Association's Annual Summer Conference.  
Conference Committee Chair
Beth Botke, Chair
PO Box 247, 14480 Webster Rd
Bath, MI 48808
Committee Members:
Hilary Alpers; Dan Bengel
Sandy Birkenshaw; Polly Cairns
Pat DePriest; Julie Cain-Derouin
Gail Dolbee; Jim Elrod
Peggy Engerson; Tony Fuoco
Brad Heikkila; Karleen Helmreich
Dan Kirwin; David Kirwin
Christine Kuhn; Debbie Kopf
Amanda LaCelle; Jacki Lykins
Nancy Meyaard; Tony Meyaard
Jeff Miller; Kim Miller
Lydia Paille; Matthew Raftary
Dulcee Ranta; Jason Rosenzweig
Jennifer Schmidt; Matt Schmidt
Sandee Sokol; Tony Sokol
Laura Stob; Liz Tobias
Vicki Vanderlugt
Visit Conference Page


The Legislative Committee reviews and monitors proposed and pending legislation and makes recommendations regarding the Association's position and legislation. The committee also presents testimony and suggests amendments to existing and proposed legislation before the State Legislature and State Tax Commission. The Association also employs a Legislative Agent to assist in promoting the values and goals of the Association.
Legislative Committee Chair
Ruth Scott, Chair
120 W Michigan Ave
Jackson, MI 49201
Manny Lentine, Legislative Agent
230 N. Washington Square, Suite 100
Lansing, MI 48933
(517) 377-9600
Committee Members:
Judy Allen (MTA): Deena Bosworth (MAC)
Chris Hackbarth (MML); Christine Norris
Stacey Bassi; Darren Carter
John Dahlquist; Matt Dingman
Sharon Frischman; Alan Jeffries
Al Nykamp; Donna VanderVriesr

Visit Legislative Page

Michigan Assessors Association's Committee Chairs and Members are appointed by the Association President.  Committee terms are typically one year unless re-appointed by the incoming President.

Key Contacts

Mailing Address

Michigan Assessors Association
P.O. Box 638.

Grand Ledge, Michigan 48837
Join MAA

Membership Services Coordinator
Heather Bouck
Email the Membership Coordinator

"The Michigan Assessor" Magazine
Matthew Raftary, Editor
Email the Editor

Education Services Coordinator
Beth Botke, Chair
Email the Education Coordinator

Matthew Raftary
Email the Webmaster

District Map

Click to enlarge
               Click on map to enlarge

Our Membership Base

Membership - 1,493
Regular Members - 1,296
Subscribing Members - 144
Other - 63
As of 09/01/2016
Follow Us On:
Copyright (c) 2018 MAA Terms Of Use Privacy Statement