Organized to improve the standards of assessment practice; to provide a clearing house for the collection and distribution of useful information relative to assessment practice; and to promote justice and equality in the distribution of the tax burden.


It's Membership Renewal Time!

MAA membership dues are based on the calendar year from January 1 to December 31st. Don't miss out on all the resources available with MAA Membership.  Please return your renewal invoice with payment today.  New and renewing members can also make their membership payment online
Renew Today!

MAA President's Message

November Message

The Michigan Assessors Association concluded its education last month with a well-attended school at Boyne Highlands.  The team of Sandy Birkenshaw, Debby Ring and Beth Botke worked tirelessly throughout this year to provide meaningful, relevant and interesting courses to our members.  Fourteen new classes were developed and offered this year!  This is a great achievement and the result of hard work by this team and the course writers!  Thank you to all who participated throughout this year.  Your comments and feedback that you provide in the course evaluations are an important part of the Education Committee’s ability to make changes and improve the educational offerings.  Congratulations to the entire Education Committee on a successful year!

Next year’s MAA schools will be held in Grand Rapids from April 27 through May 1, 2020, in Howell from July 27th through July 31, 2020 and at Boyne Highlands from October 5-9, 2020.  Mark your calendars!

 A new initiative born out of the Kent County Association of Assessing Officers will offer up to four International Association of Assessing Officers courses next year.  While the planning is not yet final for these courses, mark your calendar and look for quality IAAO courses to be held next May 18 and November 9 in Grand Rapids at affordable prices.  This is a great initiative to bring back IAAO courses to Michigan.   Thank you to Matthew Woolford, Debby Ring, Roger McCarty and Megan VanHoose for their leadership and work on this project! 

The Board of Directors final meetings for this calendar year will be November 18th at Shanty Creek in Bellaire and December 16th at Delta Charter Township Hall.  Both meetings are at 10 am.  Please join us if you can.

Paula Jastifer President

News from Around the Country

MAA Webmaster
/ Categories: Article

MAA Subscribing Member Award Renamed the "David M. Heinowski" Award

Michigan Assessors Association

During the 1970’s, the Michigan Assessors Association began recognizing outstanding members of the Association with the presentation of the Most Valuable Member Award. Later, in the mid 1980’s, the Association established an award program to recognize members who have made outstanding contributions to the Association and property tax profession in other areas. It was at that time that prominent or distinguished members of our Association were named to individual awards, in some instances, honorarily.

The Subscribing Member Award was one such award. The Subscribing Member Award was named after Robert Eckhart who was the first Editor of The Michigan Assessor magazine from 1959 until his appointment as Chairman of the State Tax Commission in May of 1960.

A prominent member of the Association at the time, Mr. Eckhart never served on the Board of Directors. However, after 60 years as an organization, we have benefited from so many leaders who

have given over 30 years of continuous service to our organization and profession and who have been instrumental in defining us as a professional organization. Many have served on this Association’s Board of Directors and numerous committees and sub-committees in addition to writing and teaching at our assessing schools at all levels throughout the State. David Heinowski epitomizes this type of leader.

For over 40 years, Mr. Heinowski has been both a regular and subscribing member of this Association. He has served 17 Presidents as the Non-voting Subscribing Advisory Member on the Board of Directors bringing a wealth of institutional knowledge, insight and advice.

David has served on numerous committees and is the only subscribing member to ever chair the Conference Committee and he has always represented Michigan assessors with integrity and in an ethical and professional manner. He is also known and respected throughout the Country by his many years of involvement in the International Association of Assessing Officers and has outstanding credentials and experience as an appraiser, holding the Appraisal Institute’s MAI designation as well as a Michigan Advanced Assessment Officer designation. Dave has been recognized with this Association’s Distinguished Service Award twice, as well as being the recipient of the Robert Eckart Subscribing Member Award twice before. This year, Dave was the last person to be awarded the Robert Eckart Award, which shall now be known as the David M. Heinowski Subscribing Member Award.
Next Article Ruth Scott Named 2019 Most Valuable Member
354 Rate this article:
No rating

Please login or register to post comments.



2019 IAAO President Timothy L. BoncoskeyI.A.A.O. President
Timothy L. Boncoskey, ASA

Phoenix, Arizona

The Michigan Assessors Association is an Affiliate and proud sponsor of the International Association of Assessing Officers About IAAO

MAA Executive Board Agenda

Login to download the current
MAA Executive Board Agenda:

Copyright (c) 2019 MAA Terms Of Use Privacy Statement